University of Missouri

Founded in 1839, the University of Missouri was the first land grant university west of the Mississippi River.

Other firsts for the university include the world’s first School of Journalism, founded in 1908; Missouri’s first College of Veterinary Medicine, founded in 1946; the first engineering program west of the Mississippi, founded in 1849, and the nation’s first College of Education at a public university, founded in 1868.

Also known as MU and Mizzou, the school is a major land-grant institution and is the state’s largest public research university, conducting millions of dollars in federal research each year. It is one of only 34 public universities (and the only in Missouri) selected for membership in the Association of American Universities. Mizzou offers more than 300 degree programs and is among only five institutions in the country with law, medicine, veterinary medicine and a nuclear research center — the most powerful university research reactor in the country — on one campus. The campus itself is designated a botanic garden, with more than 42,000 plants and trees, and serves as an outdoor laboratory for 10 academic programs. MU also operates a Museum of Art and Archaeology and Museum of Anthropology, both of which are open to the public.

Mizzou has 18 schools and colleges offering 307 degree programs — 85 of them available online.

The university has been nationally recognized by the National Science Foundation as one of the top 10 universities in the country for undergraduate research opportunities. Other accolades include being designated “Research University/Very High” and “Community Engaged” by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching; accreditation through the Higher Learning Commission; named a veteran-friendly school by G.I. Jobs, U.S. News and World Report and other national media; the university, the Trulaske College of Business and the College of Education’s graduate program are all listed in the top 50 by the U.S. News and World Report; the Journalism School is consistently a top ranked program by organizations and publications such as the NewsPro-Radio Television Digital News Association, USA Today and College Magazine and the Energy Star CHP Award from the Environmental Protection Agency for significant pollution reduction and energy efficiency.

The University of Missouri is a Division I member of the NCAA and joined the Southeastern Conference in 2012. Since making the switch, the athletic department budget has grown to more than $90 million. The Tigers compete in 18 sports and have achieved notable success in everything from gymnastics and wrestling to football and basketball.